George Latella, MBA

Visiting Instructor
Office: 206d Mandeville hall
Phone: (610) 660-2254

George has taught Food Marketing at SJU for the last 20 years in our Undergraduate, Graduate (MBA), Executive Education, and Center for Food Marketing programs. In addition, he currently consults on Food Marketing Strategy and Insights for the Beacon Marketing Group. He also has over 20 years of Executive Sales and Marketing experience with Tasty Baking Company (Tastykake). His most recent responsibilities included Director of National Accounts and New Business Development, Director of Customer Relations and E-Commerce, Director of Key Accounts, and Director of Marketing. He brings practical experience and live examples into the classroom.


  • MBA Marketing Saint Joseph's University Haub School of Business
  • BS Marketing Drexel University Lebow School of Business

Professional Experience

Boards, Associations, Committees

Food Industry Summit (FIS)

CYO Board – St. Bernadette’s Parish

Kristin’s Krusade

Food Marketing Association (FMA)

Courses Taught

  • Food Marketing Strategy
  • Understanding the Food Customer and Consumer
  • Brand Strategy
  • Food Marketing Communications
  • New Product Development
  • Making Trade Promotions more effective
  • Making Consumer Promotions more effective
  • Creating and Measuring Customer Value
  • Direct Marketing, E-Commerce, & Social Media
  • Food Marketing Executive Capstone
  • Selling & Sales Management
  • Explaining the History, Culture, & Future of Food
  • Food Supply Chain & Logistics


Selection of Industry Articles

Making Things Happen – Execution and Decision Point Marketing, Grocery Headquarters, May 2010

Recent Industry Talks / Speeches

Retailer-Manufacturer Relationships – Cochran Scholars

Packaging/New Product Development – Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture

New Product Development – Ferrero Scholars

Brand Strategy – PLMA Scholars

New Product Development – PLMA Scholars

Grants and Awards

Distinguished Teaching Award 1998 (University College)

Teaching Excellence Award 2006

Teaching Excellence Award 2012