College of Arts and Sciences

Office of the Dean

Donald I. MacLean, S.J. Chair

Fr. Seelan

Rev. Robin S.Seelan S.J.

Donald I. MacLean, S.J. Chair
Saint Joseph's University

Description of the Chair

The Donald I. MacLean, S.J. Chair is held by members of the Society of Jesus who are accomplished teachers and scholars in the arts and sciences. Established in 1987 through the generosity of lead donors Michael J. Morris ’56, Joseph McKinney ’52 (dec.) and the Jesuit Community at Saint Joseph’s, it is intended to emphasize that the University’s Jesuit identity is inseparable from the finest teaching, scholarship and collegiate discourse. The Chair is named in honor of the University’s 24th president.

Current Chair Holder

Robin S.Seelan S.J. is a Jesuit Priest from the state of Tamilnadu, India. He has been serving as an assistant professor in the Department of Philosophy, Loyola College, Chennai for the past five years. Earlier, he has served in Arrupe Collge, Harare, Zimbabwe and in the national philosophate in Pune, India, known as Jnana Deepa Vidyapeeth.  Hailing from a country that is known for its multi-religious and multi culturality, Robin centers his interests around dialogues with religions and cultures.

Contact Information:

Office: Barbelin Room 300 B
Phone number: 610-660-1812