Course Link pop-ups require javascript, but without, links simply open target page as expected
Header Photo

Political Science

Professors: Baglione (Chair), Dougherty (Emeritus), Joes, Kane (Emeritus), Lee

Associate Professor: McNally

Assistant Professors: Fukuoka, Liebell, Scola

Lecturers: Boland, Koczera, Powers, Rodio, Schaller


Aristotle described the study of politics as the master science. In accord with that great tradition, the Political Science major at Saint Joseph’s University, rooted firmly in the Liberal Arts tradition of Jesuit education, incorporates both humanistic and scientific approaches in its curriculum. It familiarizes students with the main branches of contemporary political science, from timeless classics of political thought to contemporary issues affecting local, state, American, regional, and world politics. The Department seeks in all of its courses to make its students aware of the increasing interconnectedness between domestic affairs and international trends and developments. By encouraging its students to develop a life-long love of learning, a sense of responsible citizenship, the habit of critical analysis, and effective expression in speaking and writing, the Political Science major offers a solid foundation for graduate and legal studies, as well as careers in government, education, communications, and commerce.