Institute for Jewish-Catholic Relations

Board of Directors
Clifford Board Room Dedication
The dedication of the Donald J. Clifford, SJ - Charles Kahn, Jr. Board Room

The Board of Directors of the Institute for Jewish-Catholic Relations of Saint Joseph’s University consists of approximately thirty members, with a roughly equal number of Catholics and Jews. Members are from the greater Delaware Valley community together with representation from the offices of university provost and the dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and from the Department of Theology and Religious Studies. Members from outside Saint Joseph’s University are appointed for renewable three-year terms. Board meetings are chaired by the directors of the Institute for Jewish-Catholic Relations.

Board members are selected because of their commitment to the Vision Statement of the Jewish-Catholic Institute and their ability and desire to advance its work. Board meetings provide the opportunity for the members to engage in vigorous and productive exchange about the work of the Institute. Advising the directors on the focus and direction of the Institute, developing strategies regarding management and development, serving as consultants for various projects and initiatives, and assisting in the establishment of Institute priorities are all examples of how directors share their experience, expertise, and counsel.

Board members are encouraged to use their contacts to help advance the mission of the Institute. They are encouraged to promote enthusiastically the Institute’s mission, strengths and successes to friends, colleagues and associates, and to attend important Institute events whenever possible. Board members support the Institute’s work through their advisory, networking, and/or financial contributions.

Ordinarily the Board meets once in the fall and spring academic semesters. Its gatherings are planned by a Steering Committee consisting of at least three Board members, the directors, and at least one representative from the office of the dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and the Department of Theology and Religious Studies, with a rough parity between Jewish and Catholic members.


Paul Aspan, Ph.D. Associate Provost, Saint Joseph's University
Pamela Z Cacchione, PhD, APRN, GNP, BC Associate Professor of Geropsychiatric Nursing - Clinician Educator, University of Pennsylvania
Msgr. Michael Carroll Director Emeritus, Office of Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs, Archdiocese of Philadelphia
Joan Coale    
Rabbi Neil Cooper Rabbi, Temple Beth Hillel - Beth El
Perry Dane, J.D. Professor of Law, Rutgers University School of Law
Kenneth E. Davis
Senior Director, Duane Morris Government Strategies LLC
David Efroymson, Ph.D. Professor of Religion (emeritus), LaSalle University  
Josey G. Fisher, M.A., M.S.W. Director, Holocaust Oral History Archive, Gratz College
Nancy Ruth Fox, Ph.D. Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences, SJU  
Leonard Grossman National and local board member, American Jewish Committee; Board of Trusteees member, Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia  
Barton A. Hertzbach, Esq. Past chair, Board  member, the Jewish Community Relations Council of the Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia  
Batame Hertzbach Chair of Holocaust Programming Committee, board member, Jewish Community Relations Council of the Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia  
Rabbi Alan Iser Adjunct Professor, Saint Joseph's University, Villanova University
Barbara Kahn Kahn Foundation  
Charles Kahn, Jr., Hon. Ph.D. Comm. Science President, Kahn and Company Real Estate; past Board member, American Jewish Committee.   
Nina Kaleska, M.A. Director of Educational Benefits Program, UWCW Local 1776 Health and Welfare Fund (retired); lecturer on Holocaust related topics; Master of Arts in Rhetoric and Communication, Temple University  
John D. Kelly, IV., M.D. Associate Professor of Clinical Orthopaedic Surgery, Penn Medicine, University of Pennsylvania  
Adam Kessler Executive Director, Jewish Community Relations Council, Philadelphia
William Madges, Ph.D. Professor of Theology, College of Arts and Sciences, SJU  
Joni Magee, M.D., F.A.C.O.G. Certified Paralegal
Barbara D'Iorio Martino Chair, Board of Directors, Chestnut Hill College
Rocco L. Martino, Ph.D. Founder/CEO of CyberFone Technologies, Inc.
David Maxey, Esq. Retired partner in Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP; emeritus member of the boards of The Historical Society of Pennsylvania (former chairman) and The Library Company of Philadelphia.  
Marilyn McHugh, R.N., M.S.N., J.D. Associate Professor of Nursing, Lincoln University  
Charles J. McMahon, Jr., Sc.D. Professor of Materials Science and Engineering (emeritus), University of Pennsylvania  
Helen McMahon Teacher (retired), past president of the Science and Art Club of Germantown   
Adena Potok Psychiatric social worker and child care counselor, Board of Directors of Jewish Social Policy Action Network
Fran Rosenbluth Teacher (retired); Rosenbluth International (retired)  
Ruth N. Sandberg, Ph.D. Leonard and Ethel Landau Professor of Rabbinics, Director, Jewish-Christian Studies Program, Gratz College
Mark Smith, Ph.D. Professor of Bible and Near Eastern Studies, New York University
Rev. Todd Stavrakos Pastor, Gladwyne Presbyterian Church
Rabbi David Straus Senior Rabbi, Main Line Reform Temple-Beth Elohim; Chair, Jewish Community Relations Council
Domenic J.Vallone Director of Operations, Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia; Board member, Cathedral Kitchen, Camden, N.J.  
Charlotte Cohen Weinberg Carroll and Charlotte Weinberg Charitable Foundation, Inc.