Campus Resources

Office of Public Safety & Security

About Us

The Public Safety and Security Office is located in Barbelin/Lonergan, Room 13. The department reports to the Vice President of Administrative Services, and consists of a Director, Assistant DiSJUrector Operations, Assistant Director Administration, Public Safety Investigator, 3 Shift Patrol Managers, 9 Patrol Supervisors, 76 Officers, 10 of which are on bicycle patrol, 72 Residence Hall Attendants, 16 Gate Attendants and 19 Shuttle/BusVan drivers.

Our department is concerned primarily with maintaining the highest level of security possible on the University's campus and within the University's facilities. The University's security officers are not police officers and they do not carry firearms; any criminal investigations are conducted by the Philadelphia Police Department or the Lower Merion Police Department which are responsible for coverage at Saint Joseph's University.

Because the safety and security of the University is the shared responsibility of all who live, work and study on the campus, members of the University community are encouraged and expected to use common sense where personal safety is concerned and to report any suspicious or criminal activities to the Department of Public Safety at 660-1111. Emergency phones are located throughout the campus both inside and outside of campus buildings. Dialing is not required on these phones. When the receiver is lifted or the button is pushed the phone automatically calls Public Safety.

Department of Public Safety Administrators

John Gallagher, Director of Public Safety & Security, 610-660-1164, jgalla02@sju.edu
Ernest Hospedale Jr., Assistant Director of Operations, 610-660-1110, ehospeda@sju.edu
Michael Boykin, Assistant Director of Administration, 610-660-3372, mboykin@sju.edu
Mark Lemon, Public Safety Investigator, 610-660-1161, mlemon@sju.edu
John Celebre, Shift Manager, jcelebre@sju.edu, 7am to 3pm shift
Paula Hall, Supervisor, phall@sju.edu, 7am to 3pm shift
Teresa Stewart, Supervisor, tstewart@sju.edu, 7am to 3pm shift
Tim Trucksess, Shift Manager,ttruckse@sju.edu 3pm to 11pm shift
Tom Marsh, Supervisor, tmarsh@sju.edu, 3pm to 11pm shift
Jennifer Portalatin, Supervisor, jportala@sju.edu, 3pm to 11pm shift
Charles Wiseley, Shift Manger,cwiseley@sju.edu, 11pm to 7am shift
Darrell Stewart, Supervisor, dstewart@sju.edu, 11pm to 7am shift