Campus Resources

Office of Public Safety & Security

About Us

The Public Safety and Security Office is located in Barbelin/Lonergan, Room 13. The department reports to the Vice President of Student Life, Associate Provost and consists of a Director, Assistant DiSJUrector - Operations, Assistant Director - Administration, Public Safety Investigator, 3 Shift Captains, 6 Shift Lieutenants, 76 Officers, 10 of which are on bicycle patrol, and 8 Gate Attendants.

Our department is concerned primarily with maintaining the highest level of security possible on the University's campus and within the University's facilities. The University's security officers are not police officers and they do not carry firearms; any criminal investigations are conducted by the Philadelphia Police Department or the Lower Merion Police Department which are responsible for coverage at Saint Joseph's University.

Because the safety and security of the University is the shared responsibility of all who live, work and study on the campus, members of the University community are encouraged and expected to use common sense where personal safety is concerned and to report any suspicious or criminal activities to the Office of Public Safety & Security at 660-1111. Emergency phones are located throughout the campus both inside and outside of campus buildings. Dialing is not required on these phones. When the receiver is lifted or the button is pushed the phone automatically calls Public Safety.

Office of Public Safety Administrators

Arthur Grover, Director, 610-660-1164, agrover@sju.edu
Michael Boykin, Assistant Director of Adminstration, 610-660-3372, mboykin@sju.edu
Mark Lemon,  Assistant Director of Operations, 610-660-1161, mlemon@sju.edu
Teresa Stewart, Captain, tstewart@sju.edu, 7am to 3pm shift
Jennifer Portalatin, Lieutenant, jportala@sju.edu, 7am to 3pm shift
Martin Havira, Lieutenant, mhavira@sju.edu, 7am to 3pm shift
John Celebre, Captain, jcelebre@sju.edu, 3pm to 11pm shift
Tim Trucksess, Lieutenant,ttruckse@sju.edu 3pm to 11pm shift
Stacy McLean, Lieutenant, smclean@sju.edu, 3pm to 11pm shift
Charles Wiseley, Captain,cwiseley@sju.edu, 11pm to 7am shift
Darrell Stewart, Lieutenant, dstewart@sju.edu, 11pm to 7am shift
Katarsha Saunders, Lieutenant, ksaunder@sju.edu, 11pm to 7 am shift