Degree Requirements

The reading specialist certification is a 27-credit program that includes the following requried classes:

  • Writing in the Classroom
  • Psychology of Literacy
  • Literacy Assessment & Instruction K-3
  • Literacy Assessment & Instruction 4-12
  • Literacy Research
  • Planning and Organizing Literacy Programs
  • Literacy Practicum
  • Language and Culture

Plus one of the following if needed (determined in consultation with the Director of Reading/Literacy):

  • Multicultural Literature for Children
  • Sociocultural Aspects of Literacy
  • Methods in Teaching English as a Second Language
News and Alerts Events