Aerospace Studies Minor

Saint Joseph's University has headquartered Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) Detachment 750 since 1951, hosting cadets from colleges and universities throughout the Philadelphia area. Directed by the Department of Aerospace Studies, AFROTC provides college-level education that qualifies cadets for commissioning as second lieutenants in the United States Air Force. Students electing to enter AFROTC commit themselves to completing their college degrees while developing the core values of the U.S. Air Force: Integrity First, Service Before Self and Excellence In All We Do.

In addition to three-year and four-year curricula that lead to commissioning, the Department of Aerospace Studies offers a minor in aerospace studies for cadets completing all four years of AFROTC. Successful completion of the major requires additional courses in Air Force Leadership Studies, National Security Affairs and Preparation for Active Duty, an upper-level foreign language course and a composition-oriented course.

AFROTC offers two-, three- and four-year scholarships on a competitive basis to qualified applicants. Scholarships are applied to tuition and lab fees, include a textbook allowance and a tax-free monthly stipend.