AFROTC Celebrates New Lieutenants, 60 Years on Campus

Thursday, May 17, 2012

PHILADELPHIA (May 17, 2012) – On Saturday, May 19, five seniors of Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) Detachment 750 will commission as Second Lieutenants in the United States Air Force. The ceremony, to be held in the Chapel of St. Joseph – Michael J. Smith, S.J., Memorial on Saint Joseph’s University campus, will be followed by a celebration of the detachment’s 60th anniversary.

Established at what was then Saint Joseph’s College in 1951, Det. 750 is comprised of cadets from 23 area colleges and universities and is headquartered at SJU. This year, five will commission at the May 19 ceremony and an additional three will commission at a separate ceremony in June.

The May 19 graduates include: Jaclyn Bergstein, Temple University; Courtney Gallagher, Temple University; Steven Palmer, Villanova University; Adam Staricha, Temple University; and Nicholas Worby, Saint Joseph’s University. Commissioning in June are Matthew Fritz, Rowan University; and Holden Nardini and Thomas Nguyen, both of Drexel University.

During the ceremony, each cadet will recite the Oath of Office and receive Second Lieutenant rank, signifying their transition from cadet to military officer.  For the first time, a cadet will be commissioned over a Skype phone call: Jaclyn Bergstein will be remotely commissioned by her sister, Second Lieutenant Sarah Bergstein, from Andersen Air Force Base in Guam.

This year’s commissioning speaker will be Lieutenant General David S. Fadok, commander and president of Air University at Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala. Lt. Gen. Fadok flew combat and combat support missions in operations Just Cause, Desert Shield, Desert Storm and Southern Watch; was the 1988 recipient of the Secretary of the Air Force Leadership Award, and is a command pilot with over 4,000 hours. A distinguished academic, he holds advanced degrees from Oxford University and the School of Advanced Airpower Studies. Prior to his current position at Air University, Lt. Gen. Fadok served as commander of the Curtis E. LeMay Center for Doctrine Development and Education and as vice commander of Air University.

“These new Air Force officers represent the best our nation has to offer,” stated Lt. Col. Eric Turnbull, Detachment 750 Commander.  “They’ve trained hard for the past four years and are well-prepared for the challenges and opportunities that await them.”

Several Det 750 alumni are expected to attend the 60th anniversary reception directly following the commissioning ceremony, to be held in Campion Student Center’s banquet hall. A display of the detachment’s history will be showcased during the reception.

Media Contact

Harriet K. Goodheart, Assistant Vice President for University Communications, 610-660-1532,

Expand this section