Education Forms Three Departments; Poised for National Accreditation

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Equipped with a new associate dean and a revamped structure, the education department, which is currently the College of Arts and Sciences’ largest concentration and home of its only doctoral program, is now better positioned for continued growth and success.

Formerly, the education department consisted of three major areas: teacher education, special education and educational leadership. Under that model, all three areas were the responsibility of a single chairperson, overseeing curriculum development, assessment and accreditations, and faculty mentoring for nearly 20 full-time faculty and more than 50 affiliate faculty. The University’s new model allows for the creation of three separate departments, each with its own chairperson, under Jeanne Brady, Ph.D., former education chairperson who was named the new associate dean of education in December.

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Jeanne Brady,” said William Madges, Ph.D., dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. ”Jeanne has been a member of the SJU community for 10 years and in that time has led the department to a new level of excellence. This is an important step for the department, whose mission of providing a quality education to those who will educate future generations is a priority for the University.”

This new model also includes the Office of Accreditation, Certification and Partnerships, under the direction of Joseph Cifelli, Ed.D., assistant professor of education, who is responsible for the ongoing efforts for national accreditation, the extensive program development mandated by the new Pennsylvania Department of Education certification programs standards and the operation of the University’s various local school partnerships and student teaching programs.

The University sees the establishment of three departments within education and the acquisition of national accreditation as critical to enhancing recruitment efforts and opening a wide range of opportunities for obtaining funding through grants and other non-tuition resources. The reorganization is the first step in the University’s exploration of the desirability of establishing a College of Education, and a feasibility study is already under way.

In addition to the appointment of an associate dean of education, new chairpersons have been named for each of the three education departments. Althier Lazar, Ph.D., professor of education, will chair the teacher education department; Cathleen Spinelli, Ph.D., professor of education, will head special education; and Raymond Horn, Ph.D., associate professor of education, will chair educational leadership.

“I am so proud of my colleagues in education and of our immensely talented students,” said Dr. Brady. “I firmly believe that Saint Joseph’s is among the very best in teacher preparation.”

“The strength of our education faculty, programs and partnerships coupled with our commitment to serving urban schools and the marginalized in our society, not only makes SJU distinct, but also benefits our community and our world by preparing tomorrow’s teachers and educational leaders,” added Provost Brice Wachterhauser, Ph.D.

--Kelly Welsh ’05 (M.A.)


Expand this section