Provost’s Celebration of Faculty Scholarship Series Continues to Illuminate University Scholarship with Grant Presentations

Friday, February 8, 2019

On January 31, Saint Joseph's Univeristy's Office of the Provost hosted the second installment of the new Celebration of Faculty Scholarship series, with a symposium featuring grant-funded research. Staff and faculty gathered in the Francis A. Drexel Library for three featured presentations on varying topics and disciplines. The event provided an opportunity to highlight the University’s commitment to scholarly research, community-engaged scholarship and creativity that is central to SJU’s Jesuit educational mission.

Paul Angiolillo, Ph.D., professor of physics and director of the McNulty Scholars Program, outlined the new National Science Foundation Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Program (S-STEM) grant. A total of nearly $1 million in scholarships will be available to 16 students who intend to study STEM. The grant aims to improve retention and graduation rates along with providing research opportunities, mentoring and leadership development in STEM programs at the University.

Marcello Balduccini, Ph.D., professor of decision and system sciences, discussed his recent research surrounding cyber-physical systems, partly supported by a grant from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Dr. Balduccini and his team have developed advanced modeling techniques and reasoning mechanisms for cyber-physical systems, as well as decision support systems for multiple application domains.

Marci Berney, director of SJU’s Office of Student Outreach & Support and Chris Morrin, sexual misconduct prevention specialist, presented a three-year, $300K grant awarded by the Department of Justice’s Office of Violence Against Women, which is designed to reduce sexual assault, domestic and dating violence and stalking on college campuses. Increased community partnerships and the emphasis on educating bystanders on options to intervene are essential elements of the grant.

“It has been a productive year for grant-funded academic endeavors at Saint Joseph’s,” says Jeanne F. Brady, Ph.D., provost and vice president for academic affairs at Saint Joseph’s and the event's organizer. “The external recognition garnered by our talented faculty and staff in the form of funding is a testament to the level – and the relevance – of scholarly productivity  on our campus. I am proud to host this new series that celebrates these achievements.”

A number of faculty and departments who received grant funding throughout the past year were also recognized:

  • Catalina Arango, Ph.D. – Department of Biology
  • Elizabeth Becker, Ph.D. – Department of Psychology
  • Tetyana Berezovski, Ph.D. – Department of Math
  • Susan Clampet-Lundquist, Ph.D. – Department of Sociology
  • Rev. Peter Clark, S.J., Ph.D. – Institute of Clinical Bioethics
  • Patrick Garrigan, Ph.D. – Department of Psychology
  • Christopher Kelly, Ph.D. – Department of Sociology
  • Jodi Mindell, Ph.D. – Department of Psychology
  • Virginia Miori, Ph.D. – Department of Decision & System Sciences
  • Nicolle Clements – Ph.D. – Department of Decision & System Sciences
  • Karen Snetselaar, Ph.D. – Department of Biology
  • David Sorenson, D.Phil.  – Department of English
  • The Division of Student Life
  • The Drexel Library
  • The Haub School of Business
  • The Kinney Center for Autism Education and Support
  • The Office of Veterans Services, Haub School of Business

The next event will feature excellence in community-engaged scholarship and will take place on Tuesday, April 2 from 3-5 p.m. in the Drexel Library, first floor.

Expand this section