SJU’s Student Newspaper Receives ACP Pacemaker Award

Thursday, November 6, 2014

by Katie Smith ’15

The Associated Collegiate Press (ACP) has awarded Saint Joseph’s University’s student newspaper, The Hawk, a 2014 Pacemaker award for excellence in student media. The Hawk is one of 10 universities to receive the award in the “Four Year Non-Daily Newspaper” category.

A panel of professional journalists judge the newspapers based on their coverage and content, quality of writing and reporting, leadership on the opinion page, evidence of in-depth reporting, design, photography, art, and graphics.

"The Pacemaker award, first presented in 1927, is a high mark of achievement,” says Diana Mitsu Klos, executive director of the ACP. “Pacemaker recipients adhere to the highest ideals and best practices of journalism, in service to the public and our democracy.”

Current members of The Hawk staff, including Garret Miley ’15, editor-in-chief; C.J. DeMille ’16, managing editor; Erin Rafferty ’15, news editor; Molly Grab ’17, copy chief; Angela Christaldi ’17, opinions editor; and Dan Reimold, Ph.D., assistant professor of English and faculty adviser, accepted the award on Saturday, Nov. 1, at the Fall National College Media Convention in Philadelphia, Pa.

Weiyi (Dawn) Cai ’15, former layout editor for The Hawk, was also honored individually with a fifth place Designer of the Year Award for infographics.

Expand this section