Skip to main content

Former Hawk Galloway '14 Named To 2023 USA Men’s Select Team

Former Saint Joseph's great Langston Galloway '14 has been selected as one of the 14 athletes named to the 2023 USA Basketball Men's Select Team that will train with the USA Basketball Men's National Team as it prepares for the 2023 FIBA Men's World Cup.

Former SJU basketball player throwing basketball into net on court Photo Credit: SJU Athletics

Published: July 26, 2023

Total reading time: 4 minutes

The USA Select Team features a roster of 11 current NBA players, along with three veteran players with NBA, NBA G League, international and USA Basketball experience. Members of the USA Select Team will train daily with the USA Men's National Team from Aug. 3-6 in Las Vegas.

Galloway joins Cade Cunningham (Detroit Pistons), Jalen Duren (Detroit Pistons), Jalen Green (Houston Rockets), Quentin Grimes (New York Knicks), Chet Holmgren (Oklahoma City Thunder), John Jenkins (G League Ignite), Herb Jones (New Orleans Pelicans), Eric Mika (G League Ignite), Trey Murphy (New Orleans Pelicans), Keegan Murray (Sacramento Kings), Payton Pritchard (Boston Celtics), Naz Reid (Minnesota Timberwolves) and Jalen Williams (Oklahoma City Thunder) on the 2023 USA Basketball Select Team.

"We are confident that our USA Men's Select Team will do a great job helping prepare the men's national team for the 2023 Men's FIBA World Cup," said Grant Hill, USA Basketball Men's National Team managing director. "We have a good mix of young NBA players and those who helped us qualify for the World Cup, all of who will play a huge role in our success in Manila, as we continue to develop the national team pipeline for years to come."

Ten members of the 2023 USA Men's Select Team have previous USA Basketball experience at senior or junior competitions and junior minicamps. Galloway, Jenkins and Mika helped the U.S. qualify for the World Cup by participating in multiple World Cup Qualifying windows. Galloway played in five of the six windows, while Jenkins and Mika each played in two. Cunningham, Duren, Grimes, Holmgren and Pritchard have all earned medals as members of USA Basketball junior national teams at various FIBA World Cup and Americas competitions.

Jenkins and Reid were both members of the USA Men's Select Team in 2021 that trained with the Men's National Team prior to the 2020 Olympic Summer Games.

Jones, Murphy, Murray and Williams will be participating with USA Basketball for the first time in Las Vegas.
The roster features 10 former NBA Draft first round picks and six players who were named to the NBA All-Rookie First or Second Team.

Orlando Magic head coach Jamahl Mosley will serve as head coach of the 2023 USA Select Team and will be joined by assistants Jim Boylen (Indiana Pacers) and Matt Painter (Purdue University). Mosley served as an assistant coach on the 2021 USA Select Team and Boylen served as the head coach for the 2023 USA Men's World Cup Qualifying Team which went 9-3 through six competition windows from 2021-23.

"It's an honor to be selected to lead the USA Men's Select Team and I am truly grateful," Mosley said. "After serving as an assistant with the select squad in 2021, I'm fully aware of the importance that our team will have in USA Basketball's success this summer at the World Cup."

Since the development of the USA Basketball Men's National Team program in 2006, USA Basketball has selected and utilized seven (2007, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2016, 2019, 2021) USA Select teams to help the USA National teams prepare for major international competitions.

Six members of the 2023 USA Basketball Men's National Team have been on past select teams, including Mikal Bridges (2019), Jalen Brunson (2019), Anthony Edwards (2021), Tyrese Haliburton (2021), Brandon Ingram (2016) and Jaren Jackson Jr. (2019).

In all, 29 select team members have joined USA national teams that have competed at the Olympic Games or FIBA World Cup. Including those above as well as Harrison Barnes (2016, 2019), Shane Battier (2006), Devin Booker (2020), Demarcus Cousins (2014, 2016), DeMar DeRozan (2014, 2016), Kevin Durant (2010, 2012, 2016, 2020), Paul George (2016), Jerami Grant (2020), Draymond Green (2016, 2020), Joe Harris (2019), Jrue Holiday (2020), Andre Iguodala (2010, 2012), Kyrie Irving (2014, 2016), Zach LaVine (2020), Kevin Love (2010, 2012, 2020), Mason Plumlee (2014, 2019), Derrick Rose (2010, 2014), Marcus Smart (2019), Klay Thompson (2014, 2016), Myles Turner (2019), Kemba Walker (2019), Russell Westbrook (2010, 2012) and Derrick White (2019).

This news article originally appeared on