Nelson And Westhead Named Inductees To The Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2024

Former Saint Joseph's standouts Jameer Nelson and Paul Westhead have been named to the Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame's Class of 2024, organization officials announced on Tuesday.

Former SJU men's basketball players in uniform for hall of fame induction

During Nelson's time with the Hawks, the team reached the NCAA Tournament three times, culminating with a perfect 27-0 regular season and a run to the Elite Eight in 2003-04. Nelson was the consensus National Player of the Year that season, earning, among other accolades, the John R. Wooden Award and the Naismith College Player of the Year Award. Capping his career as the program's all-time leading scorer, Nelson was drafted 20th overall in the 2004 NBA Draft and played professionally in the NBA for 14 seasons. In 2018, Nelson received his Bachelor of Science in sociology from Saint Joseph's University.

A key member of three NCAA Tournament squads, Westhead was a member of the men's basketball team from 1958-61. Following graduation, Westhead went on to a prolific coaching career that spanned five decades. Among his numerous highlights as a coach, Westhead led the Los Angeles Lakers to the 1980 NBA Championship, the Phoenix Mercury to the 2007 WNBA Championship, led La Salle to two NCAA Tournament appearances, and guided Loyola Marymount's Bo Kimble and Hank Gathers to All-American honors.

Nelson and Westhead will be honored alongside fellow inductees George Benton, Rod Brind'Amour, Angelo Cataldi, Joan (Moore) Gnat, Brendan Hansen, Ryan Howard, Lurline Jones, Cheryl Reeve, Eddie Stanky, Andy Talley, A. W. Tillinghast, Chase Utley, and Alice Putnam Willetts on Thursday, November 7, 2024 at Live! Casino & Hotel Event Center in South Philadelphia.

The 2024 Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is open to the public. For Information and registration visit:

This news article originally appeared on